B E A U T Y | U R B A N D E C A Y N A K E D 3*

NEW Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette First Impression/Review w/ swatches

THUMB

If you don’t follow me on Instagram (@LaurenLondon94) or Twitter (@LuceLuxeLondon), then you probably don’t know that this week I finally caved, got on trend and bought the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette, which at £37 is a pretty hefty investment.

After seeing Selfridges post on their Instagram that they now stocked Urban Decay, for some reason, that really made me want to go and get it. More so than just getting it from House of Fraser or ordering direct from Urban Decay online. So anyway, I took myself off to central London and asked where the new Urban Decay stand was in the beauty hall only to received a puzzled (and slightly rude and belittling) look from the young girl working on the information desk. She informed me that Urban Decay was only available at Selfridges Online. I quietly shuffled off up the road to House of Fraser and made my purchase there…

And here she is. – I want to call her Aggie for some strange reason. Don’t ask me why.

nakedluceluxe

The little beaut came packaged in rose hued cardboard with all of the 12 shades listed on the back along with some spiel from UD:

"Get ready to experiment with 12 TOTALLY NEW (and insanely beautiful) 
rose-hued neutrals. ALL EXCLUSIVE to this set. Choose from every finish 
imaginable. Ultra-smooth mattes, gorgeous pearls and glimmering metallics.
From the palest, shimmery pink to the deepest black matte with red 
micro-glitter (aptly named Blackheart), these neutrals will make you want 
to get Naked all over again."

boxbackluceluxe

Inside the box, along with the palette, you get four testers of UD primers. The original Primer Potion, Eden, Sin and Anti Aging. – On first impressions, they’re all great, except Eden. That stuff is THICK. You can’t blend the shadows over it at all. I had to start all over after using that stuff. It’s like white tar!

Inside the palette you also get a double ended brush which is a nightmare to dry after washing. This is true of all double ended brushes though because you’re bound to get moisture building up in the ferrel’s (is that how you spell that?)  if you can’t dry them vertically. A little bit annoying but that doesn’t detract from the quality of the brush. When you imagine that buying those two brushes from MAC or Wayne Goss might set you back double the cost of the palette alone, it’s a great deal. Especially when the brushes are both great quality. The small, flat end really does work for packing on colour which is helpful with shades like Dust which can get a little… dusty. (Yeah, I know. I wonder if they intended the pun when they named this?). The flat end is also slim enough that you can use it to apply shadows underneath the eye really precisely too. The fluffy shader side was quite stiff at first but after I washed it the first time it became a joy to use. It’s really dense but still moves the shadows around well which means it’s perfect for blending.

paletteluceluxe

I watched numerous videos and looked up hundreds of swatch videos when this palette first launched late 2013 and I was always put off by the number of darker skinned girls saying that the shades were far too light and all came off looking ashy and unnatural. Even some of the swatches I saw looked very washed out but I’m guessing they just had dodgy cameras with even dodgier white balance settings that ruined all of the shades. After having played around for a few days with this I’m honestly stunned. I can imagine that that would be the case with really dark skinned people but there were girls lighter than me complaining of ashy-ness. I only ever look at swatches on the skin of people with similar colouring to me and now I own the thing, I honestly don’t see it at all. None of the shades come off ashy. Even Limit which I thought might be problematic. It just goes to show that you should try things out for yourself and not always take the reviews of others as gospel. I could’ve been enjoying this baby for months if I had just gone with my head!!

Just to prove my point… I spent an age standing in good natural light to pick up the colours exactly as they are in real life. All that’s on my skin is body butter. The swatches were done with the flat shader in the palette.

udswatchluceluxe

→Strange | Dust | Burnout | Limit | Buzz | Trick 
| Nooner | Liar | Factory | Mugshot | Darkside | Blackheart
"Every shade features our Pigment Infusion System™, the proprietary blend 
of ingredients that gives each shade its velvety texture, rich color, 
serious staying power and blendability."

Each shadow has 1.3g of product. That’s only 0.2g less than a regular UD shadow but a fraction of the price when bought in this palette. (Justification. Haha). Basically, it’s a good deal.

Strange | Pale neutral pink matte-satin. – Great when used with a really fluffy blending brush under the brow.

Dust | Pale metallic pink shimmer w/iridescent micro-glitter. – Very dusty, as the name suggests but fine when the brush is wet with water or Fix+. I use this in the centre of the lid when I’m feeling girly!

Burnout | Light pinky-peach satin. – It’s beautiful, especially in the inner corner, that’s all you need to know.

Limit | Light dusty rose matte. – I thought this would be the ashy one of the bunch but both this and Nooner come out darker than in the palette so there was no ashy/chalkyness whatsoever.

Buzz | Metallic rose shimmer w/silver micro-glitter. – Definitely a favourite for that rose-hued trend. It applies just like satin and reflects light beautifully. I’ve even used this to highlight my cupids bow and the tops of the cheekbones.

Trick | Light metallic pinky-copper shimmer w/tonal micro-sparkle. – A perfect brown highlight for anyone with olive skin or darker. 

Nooner | Medium pinky-brown matte. – I was looking forward to using this colour the most and even though it transfer to the skin a little darker than in the pan, I think it’s safe to say that it’s my favourite. You can use it is so many ways, I could even see this as that shade that you just throw all over the lid when you really cba in the morning, mascara, a little foundation and boom! Subtle Hollywood glam. Yes, I said it.

Liar | Medium metallic mauve shimmer. – With a matte brown as a transition shade, this is really lovely on its own with a little dark brown liner. 

Factory | Pinky-brown satin. – This is the one shade that I’m yet to use and looking at the photos I took of the swatches I’m seriously wondering why. It looks so silky smooth and creamy. I’ll definitely be using this one next.

Mugshot | Metallic taupe shimmer w/slight pink shift. – I have no clue what a ‘slight shift’ is (the descriptions for these things are getting very…. creative) but Mugshot is like the pink equivalent of UD Gunmetal. If silvers and blues don’t suit you, then this will.

Darkside | Deep taupe-mauve satin. – I didn’t think I would like this at all because it comes off very silver which doesn’t really work usually for me and I tend to steer clear. But it warms up a lot on application and is perfect in a smoky eye.

Blackheart | Smoky black matte w/rosy red micro-sparkle. – A surprise favourite for me. I’ve used this on the lower lash line and even the red glitters stayed put for hours. I’m looking forward to doing some sort of clubbing look with this. I can imagine this contributing to an epic smoky eye. 

I can’t say much for ease of travelling with this palette but it’s slim and the gold casing is pretty sturdy. Unless you’re shaking it around or standing on your bags, it’snot likely it’ll sustain any damage.

All-in-all I can honestly say that I have well and truly propelled myself onto the Naked3 bandwagon. These shades are so easy to wear everyday but can easily be vamped up for date night. I’d have liked to have the primer potion that used to come in the other palettes as opposed to mini testers but that really is just a pathetic little niggle that I have. This palette is luxurious without the Tom Ford price tag and even better quality that some of my more expensive shadows. I’m going to have to remind myself to use all of the other shadows I own because Aggie has firmly placed herself at the top of my shadow stash!

I know this has been a long one but I’ve not blogged properly in a long time and I had a lot to say this time around. – Keep an eye out on Instagram and Twitter for updated looks using Naked3.

I hope you all have a great day 🙂

 

16 thoughts on “B E A U T Y | U R B A N D E C A Y N A K E D 3*

    • LuceLuxe says:

      Hey. Thanks for taking the time to read it. I feared it was too long but couldn’t chop anything out because there was just so much to say. – It really is a spectacular palette!

      I’m just having a little nosey through your blog as we speak. 🙂

      Like

      • Chelsey says:

        I honestly don’t mind longer posts, I like detail. And I like to look at other reviews of products I have to see if they thought the same thing. It really is a versatile palette. I noticed that I found your blog at the exact same time as you found mine, how funny!

        Like

L E T ' S C H A T

