B E A U T Y | D A R K S I S T E R*

Simple Gothic Glam Makeup - Purple/Black Ombre Lips

midviinstallthumb
When I was around 13 or 14 I was a goth. Everything I wore was black, my make-up was black, I listened to heavy metal and hung around near the train tracks with the ‘dark’, older kids. I perfected the stony face and rarely spoke. Wearing black made me an outcast, being an outcast meant no one wanted to talk to me. – Perfect.

I thought I’d do a little bit of a Gothic look in homage to those years. I’m calling it ‘Dark Sister’ because I’m still heavily influenced by that scene and being a little Gothic is just another part of me.

Today I’m playing around with black and purple. The eyes are the simplest thing in the world to do and only involves five shadows, three of which probably aren’t even necessary. The lips are a little trickier but that’s mainly because you have to work with shadows over a liquid which can be a pain in the arse.


Full list of products and links below.

– | I covered the whole lid in black….. I then used Blackheart to blend upwards. It was literally as simple as that. I’d have left it at that but photographs weren’t coming out how I’d like so I added texture above that as a transition and Strange as a brow bone highlight. I ran a little Burnout under the lower lash line and finished with black liner in the waterline and mascara on the top and bottom. Simples.

– | I lined my lips with Rimmel Eye Liner then applied Kooky to my lips as I usually would but did not let it dry completely. Using a pencil brush, I buffed Noir along where I’d lined my lips until it was blended. Then I took that same colour in on both the top and bottom lip until there was a gradient of colour from the outside in. To finish, I patted a little lilac shadow on the center of the of the lips with my finger. Et Voila!

collage1ll

And then I decided to have a little arty-farty photoshoot…. I apologise if you’re not used to seeing this much skin.

collage2ll

And just to round off without getting all intense with heavy metal rock music, here’s my favourite My Chemical Romance song. Let’s just finish on a dark but weirdly upbeat note!


Products Used

Face

M·A·C Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation – NW43

AJ Crimson Creme Foundation – No.5

Sleek Face Form Contouring & Blush Palette – Medium No.374

Eyes

Bourjois Volume Clubbing Mascara – Absolute Black 

M·A·C Eyeshadow – Texture

Rimmel Soft Khol Kajal – No.061 Jet Black

Sleek i-Divine Oh So Special – Noir

Urban Decay Naked 3 – Blackheart

Urban Decay Naked 3 – Burnout

Urban Decay Naked 3 – Strange

Lips

ELF 32 Piece Eyeshadow Palette – Lilac (Second Row)

MUA LUXE London Lip Laquer – Kooky

Rimmel Soft Khol Kajal – No.061 Jet Black

Sleek i-Divine Oh So Special – Noir

 

L E T ' S C H A T

