M U S I C | E U R O V I S I O N – C O N C H I T A W U R S T*

Eurovision Winner 2014 - Conchita Wurst, The Queen of Europe

conchita_wurst_orf_06_orf_by_thomas_ramstorfer

Last night, May 10th, at the Eurovision Song Contest 2014 live from Copenhagen, Denmark, Europe crowned Conchita Wurst of Austria as ‘The Queen of Europe’, something that in less liberal European countries (eh hem, Russia, Bitter Much?), didn’t go down so well. My take on it is this: Conchita Wurst was the most deserving winner finishing the night with 290 points. Sure, the Dutch song was cute, Amernia’s was weird but powerful and Sweden could have won hands down any other year but Conchita…..she brought everything to  the table.

Song

The lyrics are meaningful and in no way cheesy. How many countries can say that of their entry? France? With only 2 points on the board at the end of the competition which put them in last place I can’t say that ‘Moustache‘ really did it for Europe. Nor did the Belorussian attempt with ‘Cheesecake‘ even though political ‘buddy votes’ managed to get them 43 points. I think people forget that Eurovision is a live singing contest. 

                                         conchita_wurst_orf_00-orf_by_thomas_ramstorfer               ‘Rise like a phoenix
Out of the ashes
Seeking rather than vengeance
Retribution
You were warned
Once I’m transformed
Once I’m reborn
You know I will rise like a phoenix
But you’re my flame’

First and foremost, the Eurovision Song Contest is about music. Conchita came and brought a song that was easy to relate to and had so much depth and emotion. It’s in English, which bugs the life out of me, but still, I love it. I think it should even become an anthem for Buddies and Rainbows (School schemes for anti-bullying and kids with family issues at homes). ‘Rise Like  a Phoenix’ is an inspirational song, there’s no denying, and I’ll be playing it for years to come so nyer nyer Russia!

bondtweetconchita2

Stage

All I have to say is this. No dancers. No silly flashing lights. No Polish washer women and butter maids with ginormous fake boobs covering up a horrendous Eurotrash rap, no circular piano, no trapeze, no bloody ice-skaters and no trampoline! (All things that happened last night in case you were wondering). Just Conchita. Singing a song. So simple, so glorious, all hail the Queen of Europe.

polandeurovision2014

Styling

Ignoring the ‘OMG, did I really just win’, face, look at this dress. Just look! Gold, yes. Glam, yes. Gorgeous? Yes. Hair? Perfect, not a strand out of place. The dress is modest but sophisticated and compliments her slim frame. And look at that train. On her way to collect her trophy she had a whole entourage just to help her get up there. Just yes and yes again. A few of the Met gala attendees could’ve done with being a little bit Conchita-fied last week before making fools of themselves in some seriously below grade frocks.

SH_14D12_GF_winner-1008Sander Hesterman (EBU)

Beard

What bloody beard?! If that’s what you were looking at during the performance then you’ve missed the point completely! Just get over the beard guys.

What I love about this so much is that Conchita winning has angered so many closed minded people. They say that a bearded woman shouldn’t win… That drag has no place at the competition. Pfft. That’s just a good looking man with a dress and a wig, I see no padding, no baking and no breast plate! Sure, there’s probably a wee bit of tucking but come on, in a dress like that, you’d have to.


With Conchita in first place, the rest of the top five were…..

2 | The Netherlands | The Common Linnets – The Calm After the Storm

3 | Sweden | Sanna Nielsen – Undo

4 | Armenia | Aram MP3 – Not Alone

5 | Hungary | András Kállay-Saunders– Running

topfive

banner

 

5 thoughts on “M U S I C | E U R O V I S I O N – C O N C H I T A W U R S T*

  1. gingerlovesmakeup says:

    Conchita is an incredibly talented performer and I hope she’ll be around for a long time. I fell in love with her that night. What a voice! What a song! And yes, what a dress! Hair and make-up? Perfect!

    Like

L E T ' S C H A T

