B E A U T Y | B E L L A P I E R R E S H I M M E R P O W D E R*

 

Bellapierre Shimmer Powder review

thumb

Bellapierre shimmer powder. The ultimate all-in-one mineral make up product. Shimmer powder can be combined with moisturiser, lip balm, or even a drop of water to produce a cream eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara, lipstick, nail polish, or any other colour cosmetic you wish to create; you can either apply it with your fingers directly, or you can use a brush, cotton bud or sponge applicator. Shimmer powders are made from 100% natural mineral pigments and are free from bismuth oxychloride, talc and other potentially harmful chemicals or fillers, so they are hypo-allergenic and suitable for even the most sensitive skin.

We all know about the general concept of a loose pigment or dazzle dust type product and here I have a mineral version from the company Bellapierre. The lady in House of Fraser gave me a real spiel on the different uses and even did a demo of her turning this product effortlessly into a cream shadow, a nail polish and at least five other things.

It doesn’t smell of anything and feels like nothing between the fingers when rubbed together. – I did a little experiment of my own to see if it was what it lived up to the hype. The shade I have is called Stage.

DSC_0311

DSC_0312

Dry: on its own. – Richly pigmented, even texture.

DSC_0315

Dry…

Wet: Thicker consistency, metallic, long staying power.

Gloss: Obviously I’m never going to wear it as a gloss but wanted to test it out. I added clear gloss and the pigment was even and not streaky.

Polish: I added clear polish which distorted the colour somewhat and picked up on the gold more so than the olive green. Still, a nice shade for a polish. I’d wear it on my toes, it’d look very nice with an open toed shoe for a dinner date.


I must say I’ve had this product for a long long while now, almost a year, and have not yet gotten around to writing up a review. Had I written this when I bought it, I’d have said It was fantastic. I especially love that it is a mineral product that has zero harmful chemicals in it. I love that it’s finely milled and versatile and I love that it comes in 53 beautiful shades.

However, as wonderful as all of that is, I recently found a product that to me looks and feels the same (without the mineral tag but definitely cruelty free which this product doesn’t claim to be) and only a 13th of the price. For £1 you could have an MUR Eye Dust/Pigment (review to follow). Admittedly, MUR only has 25 shades compared to Bellapierre’s 53 but I can have the entire collection of a very comparable product for the price of  two of these….. The budget love in me knows which I’d choose.

All in all I like the product, I just don’t like the price.

 

Apologies for the quality of the images. I took these months ago on a phone with a dodgy camera.

L E T ' S C H A T

