B E A U T Y | L U S H – S E A S A L T S A V I O U R S*

LUSH Ocean Salt & BIG Review

thumb

I did a bad thing…. I skipped class to go shopping! Oh no!!!! I know! How terrible. But when university is right next to Oxford Stress sometimes you have to just duck out and have a little fun. – Oh and the gorgeous hairy dude in the thumbnail is on the front of this months LUSH catalogue. If you weren’t picking it up (FOR FREE) just to see what new stories and products are out, I’d get it for this LUSH looking man. 😉

Amongst many other places, myself and my friend Tasha ended up in LUSH. It’s one of those places that have such a ridiculous number of different scented things that it kinda gives you a headache but there is no way that you can leave and be unsatisfied. The service is always spectacular, especially at LUSH South Molton Street the staff talked to us for at least half an hour about everything. Numerous demos and general chats about the products, ingredients and scents. LUSH is always a complete experience.

SAM_3536

I ended up getting two things. I’ve been finding recetly that my skin really responds well to products with salt in them especially when used as an exfoliator so the sales assistant recommended Ocean Salt.

Ocean Salt/ Ocean Salt Self Preserving/ Alcohol Free £7.75/120g – £13.95/250g

"Limes steeped in vodka, grapefruit and lashings of salt go into this invigorating face and body scrub. Sea salt is rich in minerals and is excellent for scrubbing away any dead skin. We also add rich, silky avocado butter, coconut oil and seaweed absolute to keep your skin soft, smooth and conditioned. If you feel you need a good scrub down, apply to dry skin and rub all over using circular motions, or for a more gentle buff, use on damp skin."

SAM_3545

Ocean salt smells nothing like the sea. Well, not any sea I’ve ever been in which isn’t saying much since I’ve only ever been to Brighton, Margate and Skegness! The scent is what drew me to it. It’s clean smelling. But in a natural unperfumed kinda way. There is perfume in it but that’s neither here nor there. At first I was a little thrown by the size of the sea salt but once you start working it in to the face and body you forget about that. The larger pieces of salt really do help just get all of the junk off of your face and leaves the skin feeling fresh and plumb afterwards like it’s been massaged and brought back to life.

I have found that this stuff really hates makeup. It wont completely get it off no matter how much you try and use. It sort of gets stuck and you can’t push it across the skin. That isn’t a negative although it might sound like it. If you use a cleanser or micellar water or makeup remover first then the scrub does exactly what It’s supposed to. It exfoliates the skin leaving it soft and smooth, helps with dark marks, is 100% vegan and cruelty free and really does leave the skin in better condition.

Also, due to the fact that the sea salt is huge, I wouldn’t use this too frequently on your face and I’d be very careful if you have sensitive skin. It will not do you any favour to start tearing chunks out. We’ve all been there when scrubbing a little too hard. This stuff is very unforgiving in that respect so….. be warned.

**There are four formulas of Ocean Salt. The first, the original has vodka in it,and the second is alcohol free but the rest of the ingredients remain the same but is better for sensitive skin. The two newer versions are self preserving. If I remember rightly this is the thing that causes the argument amongst all of the naturalites because of a certain product in it. It’s not harmful to the skin it’s just less natural than everything else. – When I say self preserving I mean that unlike most Lush products which have a use by date on them, some are weeks some are a couple of months, Ocean Salt Self Preserving lasts for fourteen months.

BIG £12.25/330g

"A volumising shampoo made with seaweed and sea salt. While the salt lifts the hair and adds body, it also manages softens the hair alongside extra virgin coconut oil and protein-rich toothed wrack seaweed. Lemon and lime allow the hair to shine as they allow the cuticles on your hair to lie flat, meaning they reflect more light. Use a small amount on wet hair and work it in well to build lather."

SAM_3540

LUSH claims on their website that this stuff will turn you into a mermaid. It wont, but I kinda wish it did. 😦 What it did do however was literally scrape all of the junk off of my scalp and opened up my pores. Obviously the salt helped with that. After using this it felt like my head and hair could finally breath. If you’ve got a course or dry hair texture or hair that takes a lot of product to tame then you know how it is to get a lot of buildup on the scalp. If you’ve ever tried to wash an afro then you also know the struggle. BIG doesn’t strip the hair at all it just gets rid of all the bad and icky gunk but leaves natural oils behind to give shine and boost. – The sales assistant said this was perfect for people with braids and dreadlocks because you can get a lot of buildup out without ruining your style.

To me, this smells a lot more Ocean-y than Ocean Salt. It’s fresh and I got a lot of people saying that my hair smelt really good which is always good to know that other people notice you smelling great.

I’ve used this on both my natural (afro) hair and my human hair extensions. I can’t really say that I noticed BIG making my afro any bigger and voluminous like it claims to because that thing is already mahoosive but it certainly made it a lot bouncier although it was a little dryer than usual. That’s not saying anything bad against the product though because water alone dries out my hair if that makes any sense at all. You always have to apply coconut or castor oil straight after washing else it’ll turn into ‘barbed wire’ as my mum used to say.

I really, really enjoy BIG as it just smells so delicious and fresh. I also like the novelty factor of having a shampoo in a tub and not a garish pink bottle with a hideous logo on the front.

Oh and the salt does kinda get stuck in curly hair but doesn’t in straighter textures like my extensions. I noticed it much more with my afro because of just how tight the curls are anyway but that’s nothing a wide tooth comb wont sort out while you’re in the shower.

What are your favourite LUSH products for the hair and face? Let me know in the comments for my next trip to store. :]

banner

5 thoughts on “B E A U T Y | L U S H – S E A S A L T S A V I O U R S*

    • LAUREN | LUCELUXE says:

      Honestly, go for it. I got the shampoo more or less for the novelty as well as the degreasing qualities and was honestly blown away. It gives you that ‘mint shower gel’ fresh feeling scalp without the mint shower gel sting/smell. Plus, obviously it gives the hair a really good clean as well. It’s a bit fiddly to get used to but once you get the stuff on your head and work up a lather you’re in seaside heaven!

      Like

    • LAUREN | LUCELUXE says:

      If you like fresh smelling products that don’t have those really strong scents that you can sometimes find at LUSH and other shops then these are perfect. Plus they really do what they say they’re going to. xx

      Like

L E T ' S C H A T

