T H E S O H O S E R I E S | E A S T S T R E E T*

The Soho Series - East Street

thumb

"Like the traders and adventurers before us, we've travelled all over East Asia to bring back our favourite dishes for you to try. We've recreated the flavours and aromas traditionally found at the eternally bustling street-markets of Bangkok and Hanoi, the hawker stalls of Singapore and the noodle vendors of Tokyo. And just like in kitchens across East Asia, we make our sauces and stocks here every day from the freshest market produce.

Our menu is composed from the best street food and signature dishes from across East Asia, faithful reproductions of classics free fromgimmickry and interpretation.

God this post is so long in coming. It’s been sitting here for nearly a year!!

So East Street is a pan-Asian ‘street food’ restaurant with a funky feel. I went a couple of times with my good friend Tasha and once with my boyfriend. They serve food from most Asian countries including the Philippians, China, Japan and Malaysia. A lot of the dishes are meat based as they would be traditionally. Great for some, but not for little ole pescetarian me. Dan me and my awkward eating habits.

The service was pretty standard and the staff are all very young and very indie looking. There doesn’t appear to be any uniform which I kind of like for the whole ‘ambiance’ of a colourful street food market with a sort of ‘neon Tokyo’ style.

On one occasion, I had seafood Ramen (£10.95) and the other half, who was grumpy that day, had some udon noodle chicken concoction, a pretty standard ‘English boy’ choice if you ask me! Haha

IMG_20140208_225856

IMG-20140202-WA0000

As tasty as the ramen was, it wasn’t anything at all special. It was certainly filling, as it’s supposed to be seen as it’s traditionally a ‘working man’s’ lunch. But there was nothing to it. The udon dish was ‘ok’ too which is my boyfriend’s way of say ‘it’s pants but I payed money for it so I ate it’.

I’m not sure I’d go back if I’m honest but hey ho, nice experience those few times I went.

LONDON
East Street Restaurant
3-5 Rathbone Place
London
W1T 1HJ

Tube Station : Tottenham Court Road

 

3 thoughts on “T H E S O H O S E R I E S | E A S T S T R E E T*

  1. christinajavete says:

    Too bad the ramen wasn’t that good! It LOOOKS good, though! I love big bowls of soup =) This place looks really cool to dine at, thanks for sharing!!

    Like

    • LAUREN | LUCELUXE says:

      I always seem to get it where the food looks amazing and then just isn’t…. The same happened at a food festival a while back when the paella looked fantastic but tasted a bit ‘meh’. – It is a really cool atmosphere when you go there but the food needs to be up to standard too. I think the problem is that they try to cater to western tastes. They claim they’re authentic, but authenticity requires flavour in my book. – Thanks for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

      • christinajavete says:

        Oh, I hate that! It looks sooo good but then there’s no flavor or it’s just meh. Looks prettier than it tastes! Oh well, onto the next one!! ❤

        Like

L E T ' S C H A T

