F I L M | T H E I M I T A T I O N G A M E*

The Imitation Game Review

"Sometimes it is the people no one imagines anything of who do the things that no one can imagine"

Yesterday I really fancied a trip to the cinema so combined a half day at the library working on some essays with a late afternoons viewing. I went with my friend Sam as our respective partners aren’t really bothered about WWII code breaking films (we’re off to see The Hunger Games at my boyfriend’s request!!). I managed to stay away from the salt popcorn and we settled in for the  two hour film.

I’m no mathematician but what I gathered was that Enigma was a German machine that made all messages into an unbreakable code. The best bit was that they made no attempts to hide what they were saying, sending coordinates and plans for attack etc. etc. for anyone to openly intercept.  There were over 150 million different possibilities that the code could be and every day at midnight, the code changed again making the allies task even more impossible than it already was. Everyone thought Enigma was unbreakable. 

The Imitation Game is basically the story of Cambridge fellow Alan Turing and his attempt at breaking Enigma. It’s obviously not a spoiler to tell you that he manages it so….. you know, I’s not like I just ruined the film for you. Anyway, the fun and the suspense is finding out how he does it. – With the help of Keira Knightley and some other good looking British chaps, that’s how. Turing builds a machine that would decipher exactly which code the Germans were using on that specific day which meant that the allies could read every single message that the Germans sent. Hahahahaha, bully for you Mr Hitler.

Benedict Cumberbatch plays Mr Turing and does so spectacularly well, especially when nowadays he’s synonymous with the name Sherlock. It’s pretty hard to distance yourself from that one role…. a little bit like Daniel Radcliffe and Harry Potter…. As my friend Sam said, Cumberbatch plays Turing in a kind of Sheldonesque way (Big Bang Theory) which is both endearing and annoying, but you love him anyway. I feel myself liking Benedict Cumberbatch even more after seeing this film but not quite at Cumberbitch levels!

The only thing that disappointed me about this film was that the theatre was empty. Now I know that most people are at work at ten past three on a Tuesday but there was only one other person in the entire room with myself and Sam. I only hope that more people go to see this film as it’s fascinating; even for people who can’t stand history!

4 thoughts on “F I L M | T H E I M I T A T I O N G A M E*

  1. ohtogoawandering says:

    The history geek in me needs to see this film. London cinema prices make me go pale, but I may have to suck it up in this case!

    Like

L E T ' S C H A T

