B E A U T Y | V E L V E T L I P S*

Makeup Revolution Salvation Velvet Lip Lacquer Review w/Lip & Arm Swatches

SALVATIONVELVETLIPLACQUERTHUMBMAKEUPREVOLUTION

This is your salvation to get perfect matte lips that are touch proof. 
A long lasting lip gloss that goes on as a liquid and dries to a highly 
pigmented, bold matte finish which stays in place for hours!

You may remember my first ever Makeup Revolution post here, since then the brand has dominated the budget market in the UK and have released some absolutely stellar products. My first ever haul consisted of one of the Intense Velvet Lacquers but unfortunately, the neon pink hue of it really put me off and I wasn’t so sold on the formula either. I had only tried the MUA Luxe Lacquers then since matte lips weren’t such a massive trend. Compared to those, the MUR version just didn’t stack up.

The colours I have are: 
Keep Trying For You | You Took My Love | Velvet Rebel

SALVATIONVELVETLIPLACQUERSMAKEUPREV

salvationvelvetliplacquersmakeuprevolutionswatch

The colours swatch smoothly with high impact pigmentation. No streaks and no clumps. It’s the same story on the lips. ↓↓

keeptryingforyoumakeuprevolution

YOUTOOKMYLOVEMAKEUPREV

velvetrebelmakeuprevolution

However, now that there are so many other lacquers out there to choose from, these haven’t gotten better in my opinion. I think what it is is not that these products are bad, it’s that compared to other products they’re not good. Even compared to something as cheap as the meNow Generation matte lipsticks, these don’t hold up.

The main problem I have is that on application they’re smooth and even; they look lovely but 45 minutes on, they crumble, they don’t fade. And for someone with lips as big as mine, when your lip product is the dominant part of your makeup, crumbly or flaky lips are not attractive. If the product faded as it wore off, that would at least be manageable. From my experience you also can’t reapply over old product which again makes the product temperamental if you want long lasting colour for the day.

** I’m still not a fan of the Sade lyrics as names openliplacquerllland the packaging still looks medieval with that font.

It’s not all bad though. When you mix any of these   I’ve even managed to make the neon pink more manageable by mixing it with the Freedom Pro Melt in D-ream   which has a bit of slip and gloss to it so the pink isn’t as in your face.

So there are good things about this, and I actually love to mix lip products instead of spending money and time searching for the perfect shade. I’d rather just make it myself.

At £3.00 (£1.50 in the current sale), these really aren’t badly priced and if you don’t need it to last all day it’s actually a really good product for high impact temporarily.

I don’t usually do “negative” reviews but in the interests of fairness I just felt like I needed to mention something that I don’t necessarily love from Makeup Revolution. I know that most people, me included, love everything they release and there are plenty of other fab lip products to try from the brand such as the Iconic Pro bullets!

You can check out other matte lip products from the brand here.
3 thoughts on “B E A U T Y | V E L V E T L I P S*

    • LAUREN | LUCELUXE says:

      It’s funny you say that, I hate the swatches lol. My camera s so annoying, it’s either you get your skin to look the right colour or you get the lip colour to be the right colour. So to get them to show up, I end up looking grey. Hahahaha. But thank you! x

      Like

L E T ' S C H A T

