B O O K S | A U D I B L E*

Amazon Audible Review – George R. R. Martin – A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms

blogline

AMAZON AUDIBLE A KNIGHT OF THE SEVEN KINGDOMS THUMB.jpg

“Before Tyrion Lannister and Podrick Payne there was Dunk and Egg. A young, naïve but courageous hedge knight, Ser Duncan the Tall towers above his rivals – in stature if not experience. Tagging along with him is his diminutive squire, a boy called Egg – whose true identity must be hidden from all he and Dunk encounter: for in reality he is Aegon Targaryen, and one day he will be king. Improbable heroes though they be, great destinies lie ahead for Dunk and Egg; as do powerful foes, royal intrigue, and outrageous exploits. A KNIGHT OF THE SEVEN KINGDOMS brings together for the first time the first three official prequel novellas to George R.R. Martin’s ongoing masterwork, A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE, set in an age when the Targaryen line still holds the Iron Throne, and the memory of the last dragon has not yet passed from living memory”.

bloglineI only ever buy paper copies of books so I can help keep bookshops open. I like to buy from independent bookshops where I can but if not then Amazon, Waterstones or Foyles will suffice. However, Amazon just kept hounding me about this free Audible book trial so I thought I’d see what there was I could listen to.

Ordinarily Audible is £7.99 per month for one audiobook or £14.99 for two. I find it funny that when you try to cancel they offer you half price membership for three months.

So anyway, my free trial. I went for A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms (Song of Ice & Fire Prequel).

The book itself was good, very lively with lots happening even if some of the outcomes were rather predictable. It’s certainly no Game of Thrones. In fact, this book only took nine hours to finish where most of the other books by Martin take 33-37. The paper version is full of artwork though so that’s clearly why it’s shorter. I finished the book with three days worth of commuting to and from university which is good going.

As a book lover however, I feel as though audio books like this take away from the emersive experience of the tale. I can have half started books that I love and pick them up two years later to continue the story and still remember everything that happened. All I found with Audible is that I had to keep rewinding because I got distracted on the train or I just forgot what had happened. I also felt like the story was over too quickly. This book is 400 pages long but it was done for me in a flash. Nine hours, that’s nothing…. It all felt too quick. Apart from very minor details, I don’t particularly remember anything special.

The worst part of the experience was when I tried to cancel my free trial. It is such a round the way process that you’re put through just to cancel something you fancied trying that even if I had enjoyed the audio book experience, I wouldn’t bother to renew for fear that I’d never be able to get out of t like my JustFab subscription that I’ve had for two years now!

blogline

My overall thought, Audible is nothing special. I’d much rather carry around an 800 page doorstop and have the full reading experience than try Audible again. It just wasn’t worth it.

 

2 thoughts on “B O O K S | A U D I B L E*

  1. patricksponaugle says:

    Like you I like holding a book, reading it, admiring the words. Sometimes I have to go back and re-read to appreciate what just happened.

    (Also, I enjoy hearing how other people pronounce some of the names in books we’re read. My dad has crazy pronunciations for some of the characters in the Game of Thrones books. The audio books kind of force a pronunciation in you.)

    Like

    • LAUREN | LUCELUXE says:

      Listening to that book inspired me to go out and buy some new books yesterday and I’ve already started reading again so there’s definitely that! – And yeah that is true. Hearing names out loud. It’s funny though, certain names in Game of Thrones (the show) I don’t think anyone actually knows how to pronounce. Arya and Cersei come out different every time they’re spoken. 😂😂- Thanks so much for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

L E T ' S C H A T

